CHARACTER COUNTS

02102015-Tuesday


“He said to them, ‘Look at me and do likewise. And behold, when I come to the outskirts of the camp, do as I do’” (Judges 7:17).

Gideon understands that leadership and influence cannot be separated from being an example. This is why I have never understood those members of the clergy who so often complain about living in a fish bowl. My first thought is, “What are you hiding?” If we are to be an example to the people of God, and an effective witness to a lost world, we must live and exude our faith in such a way that we can say without hesitation, “Look at me. Do as I do.” When identifying potential leaders in the church, Paul tells Timothy to look for those possessing certain qualities (1 Timothy 3:1-7), of which only one was a spiritual gift (teaching) while all others were based on character. There is no substitute for example. People will not follow you to a place you’re not going.

