CHOOSE WELL

03282015-Saturday


“If it is disagreeable in your sight to serve the Lord, choose for yourselves today whom you will serve: whether the gods your fathers served which were beyond the river, or the gods of the Amorites in whose land you are living; but as for me and my house, we will serve the Lord” (Joshua 24:15).

At some point in life, usually when we leave home, we are confronted with the necessity of examining our faith. Is mine a truly personal faith that defines who I am and what I am about? Or have I just been riding on the coattails of my parents faith? My grandparents? Or friends?

Each day we are confronted with the call of various gods competing for our allegiance…the god of leisure, the god of pleasure, the god of materialism, the god of mediocrity; the list is endless. The Lord our God, however, refuses to coexist with any if these. This us why he challenges us each day to choose who we will serve. Choose well.

