YOUR PLANS? HIS PLANS?

10312015-Saturday


“Commit to the Lord whatever you do, and your plans will succeed” (Proverbs 16:3).

On two occasions I have stated by name the places I would be unwilling to serve. Both times these became the very places God sent me. It was so obvious that the Lord had prepared the way that I could do no other. Both experiences were enriching and endearing to my soul and we grieved deeply upon our departure.

In contrast, there was one occasion when I jumped at the opportunity to go to a particular place because it appealed to everything I, personally, enjoy, and it was a place I had always dreamed of living. Half-joking (the other half telling the truth), I even said, “Patti, you pack the bags while I pray about this.” The result proved to be my most challenging years in ministry.

If you want to make God laugh, just tell him your plans. Plans committed to the Lord look different from those committed to self-interests.

