SACRED CONNECTIONS

01052016-Tuesday


“I, Paul, write this greeting with my own hand” (Colossians 4:18).

Lives oriented toward the Heavenly Father find that personal relationships, and even our relationship to common things, are amplified and deepened. The vision of Paul taking the writing instrument from the amanuensis (someone who writes what another dictates) and scrawling with his own hand reminded me of a pen given to me by a dear friend at a previous church. It was a pen I would have never purchased for myself, but I think of him every Sunday when I put it in my suit pocket. Or when I daily use my uni-ball Jetstream roller ball pen to write my daily devotional or weekly sermon, I reflect upon the influence of my mentor in ministry, who instilled the importance of writing a full manuscript of the sermon before preaching it on Sunday. Just as Paul’s own hand gave a special, personal touch to the letter that the Colossian church would receive, we, too, can find sacred connections in the most common of things in our daily lives.

