BE REMINDED

01212016-Thursday


“Why do you say, O Jacob, and assert, O Israel, ‘My way is hidden from the Lord, and the justice due me escapes the notice of my God?’ Do you not know? Have you not heard? The Everlasting God, the Lord, the Creator of the ends of the earth does not become weary or tired” (Isaiah 40:27-28).

It is the perennial question of suffering, “If God can do something, why doesn’t he? Is he unaware?” Such assertions are foolish to Isaiah. The prophet’s response begins with a theological statement about God; intended to reshape the perspective of God’s people and their interpretation of life’s tragedies. Isaiah offers three assertions in verse 28 — God is timeless, omnipresent, and omnipotent. The implications are far-reaching. Because God’s time is infinite, having no beginning, succession, or ending, what is viewed as a delay from our earthly vantage point should not lead to a conclusion of God being unaware. Because he is not bound by space, he can help in my current place. Because his strength is inexhaustible, he can sustain me in my exhaustion.

