GRAPPLING WITH LIFE

09212017 Thursday

“How long must I wrestle with my thoughts and day after day have sorrow in my heart? How long will my enemy triumph over me” (Psalm 13:2).

“Real” wrestling is vastly different from “fake” wrestling. To be victorious in “real” wrestling demands an indomitable will and a level of strength and conditioning beyond imagination. It requires athletic maneuvering; grappling to find the advantage of angle and leverage necessary to get a pin or score a point. “Fake” wrestling is staged and the victor predetermined. To be sure, life often takes us to the mat; the struggle is real. We grapple daily with grief, disappointment, brokenness, guilt, depression, or any number of faceless, but very real opponents seeking to pin us down. Even so, faith has given us a predetermined advantage. Faith will lead you to ultimate victory because faith never quits. When you refuse to quit, you cannot be defeated.

